(English) Our Achievements


The following are some of the key accomplishments of AFSTA since 2000:

  • Being the apex seed organization representing the African seed industry;
  • Proactively participating in the promotion and development of the seed sector in general and the private seed industry in particular in Africa;
  • Organizing ten successful congresses since 2000;
  • Recognition of the Association by intergovernmental organizations such as the African Union (AU), the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), the Southern African Development Community (SADC), etc. and international seed bodies such as the International Seed Federation (ISF), the International Seed Testing Association (ISTA), the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), the International Union for the Protection of New Varieties of Plants (UPOV) etc;
  • Adoption of nine position papers on various important topics for the seed sector;
  • Assisting in setting up and strengthening of 26 National Seed Trade Associations (NSTAs)in Africa;
  • Strengthening the capacity of AFSTA members through various training sessions on important topics such as agribusiness management, seed technology, communication on modern biotechnology, lobbying techniques and seed association management, etc.;
  • Supporting the harmonization of seed regulations and policies in the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) and in the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS);
  • Attainment of diplomatic status in Kenya where the AFSTA Headquarter is based;
  • Through the funding from the United States Agency for International Development (USAID), AFSTA has established a Regional Office, in Bamako, Mali, in support of the West African Seed Alliance (WASA) and to promote the private seed sector in West Africa through mainly the National Seed Trade Associations;
  • AFSTA has established the following committees as below:
    • WASA Committee

    Chairman:                 Mr. Amadou Sarr
    Contact Staff:          Ms. Henriette Tine

    • Communication and Advocacy Committee

    Chairman:                 Mr. Denis Zaranyika
    Contact Staff:          Mr. Daniel Aghan

    • Partnership and Harmonization Committee

    Chairman:                 Mr. Nick Goble
    Contact Staff:           Mrs. Grace Gitu

    • Diverse Members Services

    Chairman                  Mr. Riadh Gabsi
    Contact Staff            Mr. Justin Rakotoarisaona and Mr. Charles Nyachae